Going gluten free can be really tough. It is hard to give up your favourite foods, even when they are making you ill. Here are ten great gluten free substitutes for your favourite foods!
1. Polenta Cake
As soon as you’re told you have to cut wheat out of your diet, the first thought that comes into your head is: “but what about cake?!” Thankfully, you will not have to stop eating cake. Whilst gluten free flour does exist, if you want a truly gluten free dessert, you can try polenta cake. Polenta is made of boiled cornmeal and is naturally gluten free. It can be easily made into loaves and cakes. Polenta cake can also be flavoured pretty much however you like with lemon, orange and ginger all popular variations.
2. Cornflake Batter
Gluten is found in places you would not expect, and one of those places is batter. Battered fish and chicken is out of the question in a gluten free diet but there is an alternative – though it sounds a little weird. Gluten free cornflakes can be crushed and used to batter meat and fish. It tastes a lot better than you would imagine! You can even use honey cornflakes for a sweeter taste.
Quinoa is a naturally gluten free plant which can be used as a substitute for things like couscous. Quinoa is also really healthy and provides a lot of essential nutrients such as fiber, magnesium, iron and potassium. The great thing about quinoa is that there is so much you can do with it. You can add fish, meat, or vegetables, or you can use it for a salad or risotto. It it very versatile.
For those of you who love rice, you will be glad to know that it is naturally gluten free. This means you can still have risotto, homemade sushi, or use rice as a side dish. However, you do still have to be vigilant. Certain rice mixes use wheat, such as fried rice mix, as well as many sauces. Whilst rice is certainly gluten free, do make sure to check the packaging of any rice dish you consume.
5. Chia Seed Bran
If you love baking but are not sure how to make your favourite recipes without flour, then this is the alternative you need. Chia does not contain any gluten, and chia bran is really useful for baking muffins and cakes. Chia seeds in general are a useful gluten free ingredient to keep in your kitchen cabinets.
6. Rice Noodles
Noodles are traditionally made of wheat, so they are not suitable for those who are gluten free. However, there is an alternative in rice noodles. Rice noodles, just like rice itself, are gluten free and are widely available in supermarkets. These can be used to recreate all of your favourite noodle dishes and they do not taste any different to wheat noodles! There are also rice noodle pots for anyone who likes instant noodle snacks.
You may not expect it but soy sauce contains wheat. This is one of the main reasons you have to be careful when ordering rice dishes. Any rice served with soy sauce will not be free from gluten. However, tamari is a great substitute for soy sauce. This Japanese sauce is made with soya beans and is less salty that soy sauce. This makes it less likely to overpower a dish.
Those with a sweet tooth will be glad to hear that meringue is gluten free. This can be a huge help when you are looking for a cake to go with your afternoon tea. Just be wary of any form of meringue pie as the base will most likely be made with wheat. Meringue nests are totally safe, though, so eat as many as you like!
9. Fruit Cider
For a lot of people, the harshest blow when finding out you need to become gluten free is discovering that beer is no longer an option. Gluten free beer does exist but it is not yet available in all pubs and restaurants. The good news is that fruit based ciders are usually not made with wheat so they are a perfect gluten free alternative when you want to have a drink! Wine is also gluten free.
Corn does technically contain ‘gluten’ but it is not the same gluten which affects coeliac sufferers and gluten intolerant people. Corn is perfectly safe to eat in a gluten free diet and can be a great substitute for other gluten-containing grains. Like most other processed foods, though, make sure to check any canned or packaged corn products just in case wheat has been used in the manufacturing.